pineapple wisdom

juice_pineapple.jpgRecently, one of my girlfriends discovered that all of her wisdom teeth are impacted. Naturally, everyone had their wisdom tooth story to scare the living daylights out of her — the doctor left part of my tooth in there, I swelled up like a chipmunk for a week or my personal favorite – my own experience – I had a psychotic reaction to the general anesthesia. (I never do anything halfway.)

But! I hardly had ANY swelling. How could that be?

I drank pineapple juice the whole week before my surgery. I can’t remember who offered this wisdom, but pineapple juice is anti-inflammatory. It is the only natural source of bromelain, an anti-inflammatory and protein-digesting enzyme (which is also good for arthritis!). Never mind that I woke up screaming at the doctor that he was a jerk for not telling me about it. (He said he’d heard about it, but doesn’t tell people. What the #$%&?)

So if you’re about to lose your wisdom teeth, drink up – the worst thing that can happen to you is you drink delicious pineapple juice for a week and it doesn’t do the same wonders for your swelling. It will still be just as delicious – my favorite kind of medical advice.

3 responses to “pineapple wisdom

  1. Other natural anti-inflammatories: turmeric and dried ginger. Both strong tasting, but take a little bit (like a half teaspoon), put it on the back of your tongue and have a glass of water handy to gulp it down.

  2. Pingback: Like pulling teeth

  3. It’s true! I had my wisdom teeth removed years apart (2 when I was in middle school, 2 when I was in college), and the second time went infinitely smoother. I credit this to the fact that I ate as much fresh pineapple as I could possibly stand the night before the surgery.

Leave a Reply

