allergeez.

Finally, it’s spring! Whoo hoo! A-CHOO!

dsc05468.jpgAllergies. The party-poopers of spring. I don’t have a ton to say about them, except I used to have them so bad I had to take Claritin and use an inhaler and I don’t have them anymore. At all. For real! (Though my contacts still get grimy with all the pollen.)

I started getting acupuncture in late winter of 2005 and that spring I just simply didn’t get my usual allergies. I never even mentioned to my acupuncturist that I got them. It makes sense, because allergies are an overreaction of the immune system to irritants like dust and pollen. When your body is out of whack, your immune system doesn’t function right. Acupuncture, to make a gross oversimplification of thousands of years of medicine, heals the out of whackness.

The problem with prescription medications like Claritin is they simply will not work forever. Ever time you use them and then go hang out in the garden, you are increasing the severity of your allergies when you are not taking them, and eventually they will be too strong for your medication. This was told to me by a western physical, who recommended staying inside as the cure for allergies — hell no! It’s 75 degrees out and I like smelling flowers.

I guess I did have a ton to say about allergies, but the one point I really wanted to put out there is that allergies, like most conditions, do not have to be forever. For me, acupuncture did the trick. For you, it may be something else, but sooner is better. And it’s never too late.

*if anyone has any good articles about allergies, that would rock.

6 responses to “allergeez.

  1. If you find your contact lenses getting cloudy, I’d recommend daily disposable lenses–they are fantastic, and you don’t have to clean them at all–just pop in a sterile pair each morning!

  2. Also, I was wondering… does acupuncture hurt? I’m not exactly a fan of needles, but I hate having allergies each spring!

  3. Guerrilla Health

    A very good question! First I’ll say that sometimes pain is part of healing, which is especially the case with many homeopathic treatment, where often symptoms suddenly worsen right before they go away.

    Does acupuncture hurt? I don’t think so, and it generally never hurts when you are lying with the needles in, though occasionally there is slight pain when they are put in. My mother is a huge wuss when it comes to pain, and she has no problem with acupuncture.

    Like with all practitioners, the key is to go to a good acupuncturist.

  4. Here’s a link to an interesting article I read recently about how allergies may be getting worse thanks to our favorite culprit, global warming.

    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB117815689129890415.html?mod=hps_us_pageone

  5. i just moved to new york from florida and am starting to get somed really bad allergy reactions i’ve never had before. i’d be into trying acupunture if my allerges continue to be persistent and servere. how many sessions would you guesstimate it would take to see improvement?

  6. Recently, I had an outbreak of very intense hives–an allergic reaction to something, source unknown. Doctors immediately wanted me to take an antihistimine and use steroid creams. I have had reactions, though not this severe, in the past, and they last months. I went to my acupuncturist and within a few days, the hives were receding. I have never seen such a quick response before.

Leave a Reply

